ATLANTA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA: Copland, Higdon, Vaughan Williams
Place & Time
Atlanta Symphony Hall @ Woodruff Arts Center
1280 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta GA USA
March 20, 2025
8:00 PM

Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite
Jennifer Higdon: Harp Concerto
Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 5

Robert Spano CONDUCTOR

Elisabeth Remy Johnson, harp

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Additional Information

Composer Aaron Copland captures the American wilderness in his quintessential ballet score Appalachian Spring, evoking rugged mountains, boundless prairies, and a spirit of hope and possibility. Music Director Laureate Robert Spano wields the mighty forces of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra to bring Copland’s evocative score to life, culminating in the stirring variations on the Shaker tune "Simple Gifts." Maestro Spano ends the concert with Vaughan Williams' Fifth Symphony, a balm written on the eve of war, packed with delicious tonal ambiguity, abundant melodies and spacious serenity. Also on the program, ASO Principal Harpist Elisabeth Remy Johnson performs the GRAMMY-winning Harp Concerto by Atlanta School composer Jennifer Higdon.

Back to List
Back to Top