FORT WORTH SYMPHONY: Beethoven’s Violin Concerto; Beethoven and Shostakovich
Place & Time
Bass Performance Hall
Fort Worth TX USA
May 4, 2024
7:30 PM

BEETHOVEN: Egmont Overture

BEETHOVEN: Violin Concerto

SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5


Robert Spano, conductor

Stephen Waarts, violin

Additional Information

When Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 premiered in Leningrad, listeners gave an ovation that lasted longer than half an hour, catapulting this gripping, emotional work to immediate and lasting success. It’s one of the few works to unite both critics and the public in their positive opinions. To open the concert, Beethoven’s Egmont Overture suggests societal unease in its churning rhythms before five famous knocking notes open Beethoven’s Violin Concerto. Youthful violinist Stephen Waarts takes to the stage for this staple of violin repertoire while FWSO music director Robert Spano helms the orchestra.

Back to List
Back to Top