HOUSTON SYMPHONY: Copland 3 + Higdon World Premiere
Place & Time
Jones Hall
Houston TX USA
May 8, 2022
2:30 PM

J. HIGDON Duo Duel for Two Percussionists and Orchestra (World Premiere, Houston Symphony Commission)
COPLAND Symphony No. 3

Robert Spano, conductor

Matthew Strauss, percussion

Svet Stoyanov, percussion

Additional Information

Often called the “Great American Symphony,” Aaron Copland’s monumental Symphony No. 3 takes listeners on an extraordinary journey, culminating in the stirring and euphoric Fanfare for the Common Man. Houston Symphony percussionist Matthew Strauss and Svet Stoyanov showcase the full spectrum of percussion’s expressive power with the world premiere of Jennifer Higdon’s Double Percussion Concerto. This celebration of American music, past and present, opens with Christopher Theofanidis’s exuberant Rainbow Body.

Back to List
Back to Top