ATLANTA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA: Yo-Yo Ma Returns for Shostakovich's First Cello Concerto
Place & Time
Atlanta Symphony Hall
1280 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta GA USA
April 18, 2021
7:00 PM

BORODIN: "Polovtsian Dances" from Prince Igor

BORODIN: Symphony No. 2

SHOSTAKOVICH: Cello Concerto No. 1

Yo-Yo Ma, Cello

Robert Spano, Music Director

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Additional Information

The inimitable Yo-Yo Ma returns to perform one of the most iconic pieces of the 20th century cello repertoire, Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1. The concerto is a masterpiece of emotional clarity and formal balance. Originally composed for his close friend and collaborator Mstislav Rostropovich, the cello part is at once deeply meditative and technically challenging, uniquely suited to the masterful abilities of Yo-Yo Ma. The concert will also feature Alexander Borodin's Symphony No. 2 and his "Polovtsian Dances" from Act II of Prince Igor.

Back to List
Back to Top