ATLANTA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA: Brahms Violin Concerto with Robert McDuffie and Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony
Place & Time
Atlanta Symphony Hall
1280 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta GA USA
April 17, 2021
8:00 PM

BRAHMS: Violin Concerto

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4

Robert McDuffie, Violin

Robert Spano, Music Director

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Additional Information

In a program of late-romantic music that is both dramatic and contemplative, Robert Spano presents the Brahms Violin Concerto alongside Tchaikovsky's iconic Fourth Symphony. Composed just a year apart, these two masterpieces reveal the emotional breadth of a moment in history that saw composers focusing the musical language on subjective expressivity within increasingly organic forms. A call to Beethoven's Fifth, Tchaikovsky's Fourth is a dynamic meditation on the notion of fate in the human condition. The ASO welcomes the return of renowned Georgia-born violinist Robert McDuffie performing Brahms' only violin concerto, one of the great concerti of the German tradition.

Back to List
Back to Top