ATLANTA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA: Copland's Fanfare for the Common Man with Maestro Robert Spano
Place & Time
Atlanta Symphony Hall
1280 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta GA USA
February 27, 2021
8:00 PM

COPLAND: Fanfare for the Common Man

MICHAEL GANDOLFI: Piano Concerto (ASO commission)

COPLAND: Symphony No. 3

Marc-André Hamelin, Piano

Robert Spano, Music Director

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Additional Information

One of the most iconic pieces of Americana ever written, Copland's Fanfare for the Common Man inspires Hollywood composers to the present day, and even inspired Copland himself – he returned to the fanfare's music to write his dramatic Third Symphony a few years later. Both the brassy Fanfare and the Third Symphony were considered patriotic if not populist responses to the Second World War; the former was intended to boost morale during wartime, while the latter embodies feelings of optimism which swept the nation afterwards. The evening includes a brand-new piece of American music, the ASO-commissioned Piano Concerto by Michael Gandolfi played by the renowned virtuoso Marc-André Hamelin.

Back to List
Back to Top