FORT WORTH SYMPHONY: Higdon, Prokofiev, Dvorák
Place & Time
Will Rogers Memorial Auditorium
Fort Worth TX USA
January 10, 2021
2:00 PM


Celestial Blue, from Dance Card

Violin Concerto No. 2



Featured Artists
Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra
Robert Spano, conductor
Stefan Jackiw, violin

Additional Information

“Dance Card” is a five-movement work by Higdon which embodies the elation of strings performing together in an exploration of the capabilities of string instruments through both solo performance and ensemble playing. Celestial Blue will highlight a lengthy solo melody over a steady pulse which will draw the listener in. Violinist Stefan Jackiw will perform Prokofiev’s lyrical Violin Concerto No. 2, a work that is both beautifully lyrical and blazingly virtuosic. The five-movement Serenade in E Major by Dvorák is a brilliant mixture of mellow melodies, introspection, and harmonic depth which will give the listener a deep sense of satisfaction and repose to conclude their concert experience.

Back to List
Back to Top