Place & Time
Jones Hall
615 Louisiana St
Houston TX USA
May 1, 2021
8:00 PM

J. HIGDON “Celestial Blue” from Dance Card
BRITTEN Sinfonietta, Opus 1
B. DEL SIGNORE Percussion Concerto, mvt. II
BRAHMS Serenade No. 2

Robert Spano, conductor

Brian Del Signore, marimba

Additional Information

Principal Percussionist Brian Del Signore makes an extra-special Houston Symphony solo debut, performing the marimba movement from his own Percussion Concerto. Plus, hear Celestial Blue by Grammy and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Jennifer Higdon, followed by an invigorating early masterpiece by Benjamin Britten. The concerts close with Brahms’s genial Serenade No. 2, delightful music that foreshadows the great symphonic voice that was soon to emerge.

Back to List
Back to Top